Nicole's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Obesity and Yoga! April 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bebechick322 @ 4:34 pm

People struggle with weight gain and fitness every day. One of the more severe problems is obesity. An easy way to help this epidemic is fitness and healthy life styles.

Obesity is a huge problem in the United States. Over 190 million Americans are over-weight or obese. It is easier and cheaper to go to McDonalds and buy a double cheeseburger with a large soda and large fries than get a salad and a bottle of water. That is ridiculous. There is also a 150 billion dollar burden on the U.S. from obesity. Some people eat even when they are not hungry.

A great solution is fitness and healthy eating habits. Trying to get with a regular routine of exercise will help you stay accountable to yourself and you will work out more. If you have a friend to workout with or someone to motivate you, you will feel obligated to exercise. I know that I tell my boyfriend every time I workout so that way when I do not feel like going, he’ll ask if I’m going to the gym and without him realizing it, he is motivating me to workout.

A great group exercise that I semi-regularly enjoy is yoga. Yoga is very relaxing yet physically challenging. Yoga is also a great way to get in better shape for spring time. Yoga is an age old exercise that has recently gained wide spread popularity throughout the United States. There are many forms of yoga and it has grown popular with celebrities as well. It is also growing with athletes as a way to help them improve in their specific sport.

My freshman year at Florida Southern College, I took yoga as an elective physical education class. Before the class, I had never taken a yoga class at all. I knew it was a great way to get tone and to mentally relax. As it turned out, that was correct. I enjoyed my yoga class because it made me feel overall healthier and even after the class was over for the semester, my balance seemed to have been improved.

Our solution: yoga helps with people who are over-weight or even helps with obesity. Yoga is a more gentile and mentally relaxing way of exercise. You feel less bored during exercise while becoming more toned and over all healthier. Since yoga is becoming more popular in the U.S. maybe that means Americans as a whole will become over all healthier as we used to be in generations passed.

Personally, yoga helped me become overall toner. And I continue to attend yoga classes semi-regularly. I would recommend yoga to anyone who wanted to be in a group exercise class. Or to anyone who just wanted to improve his or her physical health in any type of way. Yoga is a very beneficial exercise.

 

Leave a comment